Camp Anime 2013 Review

This year I attended Camp Anime in Woodstock, CT for the first time. Now, don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the outdoors … in theory … Stars, campfires, fresh lake water, and especially the smell of burning firewood and pine. But, I don’t love the bugs, no cell reception … and sleeping outdoors … And it was for those exact reasons, that I was a bit skeptical about going away for the weekend and sleeping in a cabin … But, I’m glad that I did.

Organization: 3 Riceballs

Organization for me is always something that makes or breaks a convention, it’s always the thing that turns a five riceball review into a three riceball review-but it’s a big deal for me. And Camp Anime needs to work on theirs. With so much going on, it’s understood that there are going to be some hiccups along the way- but they still need to be worked on. The organization wasn’t terrible. However, panels and events were changed haphazardly without notification. A simple event board in the main parts of the convention that showcases these changes could fix this very easily.

Events: 5 Riceballs

Now, I’m not one for naps … But I was so worn out by all of the activities that I got to do! I was up at 8am each morning to make sure I got to each thing I wanted to go to. I rock-climbed, I shot a BB Gun, I shot an arrow like Kagome! A did an amazing scavenger hunt, tried new and … interested foods-and even did some normal things like sing karaoke and enter a cosplay contest. I have never seen a convention with events and activities like Camp Anime!

Location: 5 Riceballs

Normally, I would say that holding a convention in the middle of Connecticut where there is no service and no stores within walking distance is a horrible idea …. But that’s just not the case when it comes to camp anime. I was unable to check my email, speak to my boss, or even gossip with my best friend. And, I had to eat the same thing as everyone else in a cafeteria like I was back in elementary school. And it was amazing! Here i was at a convention- Working- but without a phone to distract me every five minutes, it turned into a vacation. And I was able to sit down at a lunch table and talk to my peers over coffee and cafeteria food- and really get to know them. The YMCA Camp Woodstock was the best choice for Camp Anime, hands down. With scenery from a post card and lakes clean enough to drink from … I can’t wait to visit again next year.

Overall 4.5 Riceballs

This has been the hardest review I have ever had to write, simply because I almost don’t want anyone else knowing about this gemstone that I have found. For someone like me, who goes to at least ten conventions a year, Camp Anime is on a field of its own. Camp Anime is a vacation that I didn’t even know that I needed. And it will continue to be for years to come. More than anything, I admire the closeness of this convention. You can see the same person ten times a day, you can leave your car unlocked, you can even run in the woods with strangers at 12am looking for Slenderman notes … This convention is going places, and I only hope, that as they do, they remember right now- when the convention was first starting to grow, and they keep that vibe.

Leave a Reply

